AustraliaCanadaUnited KingdomUnited States

MMEG 2023 Scholarships for Women from Developing Countries

The Margaret McNamara Education Grants (MMEG) program was established in 1981 in memory of Margaret Craig McNamara, a life-long advocate of the improvement of the lives of underserved women and children.

The MMEG program is an opportunity for women from countries of the Global South to obtain grants that will allow them to pursue their higher education and improve their leadership in order for them to have a positive impact on the situation of women and children in their home countries. The grant consists of about $15,000 and is awarded to women from countries of the Global South who vow, upon their graduation, to return to developing countries and work on improving the lives of women and children there.


The MMEG is a non-profit, philanthropic organization that was established in 1981 and that provides education grants to outstanding female candidates from developing countries who seek to pursue their education in the US, Canada, and specific universities in South Africa and Latin America. So far, the MMEG has helped 416 women from over 75 countries.

Eligibility requirements for MMEG Scholarships:

To be considered for the MMEG, applicants must meet the following criteria:

⦁ Be aged 25 at least by the application deadline
⦁ Be a citizen of one of the countries eligible for the MMEG
⦁ Be enrolled at an accredited university in the US, Canada, South Africa, or Latin America by the application deadline, and have the intent to remain enrolled for a full academic term upon reception of the grant;
⦁ Not be a spouse or family member of someone working for the World Bank Group, the Inter-America Development Bank, or the International Monetary Fund.
Applicants who meet the criteria mentioned above must also:
⦁ be enrolled in university and hold a student visa as well as have the intention to continue studies the following year, studies must be full-time;
⦁ not be a US citizen or permanent resident, nor a Canadian citizen or holder of Canadian immigrant status.



Applications for this program open on September 15 and close on January 15. The results are announced in the month of April. Candidates who will receive the award will be informed.
For further information, candidates may address an email to .

How to Apply:

We encourage applicants to refer to the application checklist and the FAQs section before beginning the process of application. The application process begins after you sign up. Make sure to select “US-Canada program”.

Application Deadline: January 15, 2023

Official Website:

For more details, please visit the official website:


Related Articles

Back to top button